Blue Origin Passenger Cameron Bess the First Pansexual, Furry in Space

by Kilian Melloy

EDGE Staff Reporter

Sunday December 19, 2021
Originally published on December 14, 2021

Twitch streamer Cameron Bess, 23, became the first out pansexual person — and the first furry — to venture to the final frontier when they blasted off on Blue Origin on Dec. 11, UK newspaper the Independent reported.

"The new commercial astronaut joins just two other known LGBTQ+ individuals who have reached space: NASA astronauts Sally Ride (now deceased) and Anne McClain (who is still with the corps)," noted.

But while those astronauts didn't head into space as openly LGBTQ+ to the public at large, Bess was out and proud from the get go. The Independent related that Bess' profile at Blue Origin's site says they identify "as pansexual and is proud to represent marginalized communities and hopes their journey can inspire others."

"My entire life I've wanted to make people who feel like they didn't have a place feel welcome," local newspaper the Miami Herald recalled Bess as saying interview with Xtra.

The Dec. 11 flight was the third for Blue Origin, carrying not only the Besses but also four others, including (A replay of the flight's video footage is available at the Blue Origin website.)

Bess, who uses they/them pronouns, was also part of the first parent/child pairing on a space flight, with the 11-minute excursion into space also carrying their father, Lane Bess, the 60-year-old entrepreneur behind the tech venture fund Bess Ventures and Advisory.

Though Bess wasn't able to blast off clad in their furry suit due to "mass restrictions," reported that they did take a pansexual flag along for the journey.

Kilian Melloy serves as EDGE Media Network's Associate Arts Editor and Staff Contributor. His professional memberships include the National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association, the Boston Online Film Critics Association, The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association, and the Boston Theater Critics Association's Elliot Norton Awards Committee.